New Ghost Stories
New Ghost Stories Podcast
New Ghost Stories Podcast 11 - The Storm Walker
0:00
-1:29:25

New Ghost Stories Podcast 11 - The Storm Walker

You can listen and download the New Ghost Stories Podcast from a number of platforms.

Sometimes you have to draw a line.

I remember distinctly standing outside her door. Wondering whether to knock.

I’d heard so much about her. This story was as much about her as about the subject I’d interviewed, who’d first told me about her. Their two tales were inextricably intertwined.

I had learnt second-hand about the tragedy that had defined her life. That had sent her on countless journeys into the fields and hills when the rail fell. Better yet, when there was a storm raging.

By this time, I’d met many people who had claimed to have spoken to ghosts. But I had never known of someone who appeared to have such an intense ongoing relationship with one.

I had so many questions. But did I have the right to intrude on her life?

It is usually the case that subjects approach me. For a number of different reasons, they want to speak out and unburden. They want to have someone take seriously what may seem impossible, perhaps even prove that it was true.

And now here I was, stood outside the home of someone who could be my most fascinating subject yet. But she had not reached out, and she had not asked to speak to me.

Sometimes you have to draw a line.

I had set up this project to explore people’s experiences. Those that could really be supernatural. Even though her experiences were beyond value, I could not bring myself to cross the threshold. I did not have the right.

Despite what I might have learned, I’m still glad I walked away. The glimpse of this woman’s life that we have in the case no.91 is so intriguing. But if your ambition is to allow people to speak, you have to consider and respect the wishes of those who choose not to.

New Ghost Stories Volume 3 is out in 2021 at some point (I promise). You can read a preview story here and check out previous volumes here.

0 Comments
New Ghost Stories
New Ghost Stories Podcast
Hear witness accounts of the supernatural. Author David Paul Nixon has spent almost a decade travelling Great Britain and collecting lost ghost stories that have never been told before. Are these stories of madness, lies, or self-deception? Or could they be the real thing? The only way to find out, is to listen.